Welcome to the Historical Fiction Online forums: a friendly place to discuss, review and discover historical fiction.
If this is your first visit, please be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above.
You will have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.
To start viewing posts, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

"Courtesan" by Diane Haeger

SonjaMarie
Bibliomaniac

"Courtesan" by Diane Haeger

Post by SonjaMarie » Mon October 6th, 2008, 4:08 am

I'm not good at writing reviews, so be kind please and maybe give me some pointers if I didn't do a good job!

"Courtesan" by Diane Haeger, 565 pages.

This book is about Diane de Poitiers and her amazing love story with Henri II of France. A love affair that started when she was 31 (she was actually 35 in real life) and the prince, the 2nd son of Francois I, was 14.

Henri was a lonely and angry young man who had been imprisoned by Emperor Charles of Spain with his brother the Dauphin in the place of their father after defeat in war. He despises his father and other then a small group of friends, he hates pretty much everyone. Diane was a widower returning to Court after 5 years and has caught the eye of Francois and the hatred of his favourite, Anne D'Heilly.

Henri changes under the care of Diane, who has no thoughts of romance just of friendship, but he starts to become obsessed with her and soon she falls in love with him. He wants to marry her but she is not an appropriate choice as a wife for a son of King of France, therefore he is forced to marry Catherine de'Medici. Francois and Anne do everything they can to drive Diane from the Court, but for the love she bears for Henri, nothing can force her to leave and endures all the crap aimed at her way.