Welcome to the Historical Fiction Online forums: a friendly place to discuss, review and discover historical fiction.
If this is your first visit, please be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above.
You will have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.
To start viewing posts, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Forthcoming Books: 2013 edition

For discussions of historical fiction. Threads that do not relate to historical fiction should be started in the Chat forum or elsewhere on the forum, depending on the topic.
Carla
Compulsive Reader
Posts: 965
Joined: August 2008
Contact:

Post by Carla » Mon March 18th, 2013, 9:29 pm

Bride of the Spear, by Kathleen Herbert. To be re-published by Trifolium Books UK, June 2013.

Arthur, the last High King of the once civilised Roman province of Britannia, has been dead for fifty years. The last British kings of the North are fighting for survival in a welter of feuding and treachery.

Taniu, neglected and unloved daughter of King Loth of Lothian, is out gathering herbs when she meets a handsome young huntsman, unaware that he is Prince Owain of Cumbria. The two promise to meet in the spring, but when the awaited time comes and the King of Cumbria applies to Loth for the hand of his daughter, Taniu refuses, never connecting huntsman and prince. Tragedy, bloodshed and separation follow, but there is a satisfyingly upbeat ending.

At last, Kathleen Herbert's Heroic Age books, long out of print, are to be published in their correct order. They have been variously known as The Northumbrian Trilogy and The Cumbrian Trilogy. They have a much wider geographical setting than either suggests, ranging from Lothian and Strathclyde, through modern Yorkshire and North Wales to the Midlands, hence the new title: The Northern Kingdoms.

Bride of the Spear is due out in June, Queen of the Lightning and Ghost in the Sunlight will follow later in 2013

Find out more on Trifolium Books UK website and blog: http://www.trifoliumbooks.co.uk
PATHS OF EXILE - love, war, honour and betrayal in Anglo-Saxon Northumbria
Editor's Choice, Historical Novels Review, August 2009
Now available as e-book on Amazon Kindleand in Kindle, Epub (Nook, Sony Reader), Palm and other formats on Smashwords
Website: http://www.carlanayland.org
Blog: http://carlanayland.blogspot.com

User avatar
Lisa
Bibliophile
Posts: 1153
Joined: August 2012
Favourite HF book: Here Be Dragons by Sharon Kay Penman
Preferred HF: Any time period/location. Timeslip, usually prefer female POV. Also love Gothic melodrama.
Location: Northeast Scotland

Post by Lisa » Mon March 18th, 2013, 9:33 pm

Oh that's good news! I want to read those and they're getting hard to come by.

Carla
Compulsive Reader
Posts: 965
Joined: August 2008
Contact:

Post by Carla » Mon March 18th, 2013, 10:06 pm

I was very pleased too! My copies of the old editions are falling apart. Not long to wait now :-)
PATHS OF EXILE - love, war, honour and betrayal in Anglo-Saxon Northumbria
Editor's Choice, Historical Novels Review, August 2009
Now available as e-book on Amazon Kindleand in Kindle, Epub (Nook, Sony Reader), Palm and other formats on Smashwords
Website: http://www.carlanayland.org
Blog: http://carlanayland.blogspot.com

User avatar
Tanzanite
Bibliophile
Posts: 1963
Joined: August 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Contact:

Post by Tanzanite » Fri March 22nd, 2013, 7:38 pm

Confessions of Marie Antoinette by Juliet Grey. US and UK release September 24, 2013.


Completing the ambitious, sweeping trilogy she began with the acclaimed Becoming Marie Antoinette and continuing through the sumptuous Days of Splendor, Days of Sorrow, Juliet Grey blends rich historical details and searing drama in exploring the final days of the infamous French monarch.

This triumphant final volume tells the story of the woman whose story we all think we know: Marie Antoinette. The tumultous times will sweep her from the throne and into the shadow of the guillotine, but this intimate, heartwrenching tale of the queen's final days bring to life not only a country in turmoil, but the human story of a wife and a mother-one of the most fascinating women of her time.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Tanzanite
Bibliophile
Posts: 1963
Joined: August 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Contact:

Post by Tanzanite » Fri March 22nd, 2013, 7:39 pm

Elizabeth of York: A Tudor Queen and Her World by Alison Weir. Non-fiction. US and UK release November 5, 2013.

As the first Tudor queen and mother of the infamous Henry VIII, Elizabeth of York was a figure of key historical importance. As the only living descendent of Yorkist King Edward IV, she legitimized the new Tudor dynasty. This is dramatic English history as only the New York Timesbestselling author of Mary Boleyn can write it.

Surprised to discover that there is no modern biography of this important English queen, Alison Weir has written the first in-depth, engaging book about this woman who was born a York but died a Tudor. As the daughter of the last Yorkist king, Edward IV, sister to the murdered princes in the Tower, and wife of the first Tudor king, Henry VII, her life formed a bridge between the end of the House of York and the beginning of the Tudor Dynasty.

Elizabeth bore Henry eight children, including the future Henry VIII, before dying in childbirth in 1503 on her 38th birthday. She was an enigmatic figure who may well have enjoyed a sexual relationship with her uncle, the infamous Richard III, who wanted to marry her. But she became pregnant with the child of the new king, Henry VII, who then made her his wife. As a result, Henry kept her under tight control, knowing she was capable of straying. This biography shows off Weir's skills as a researcher and historical sleuth, and sheds new light and understanding on this enigmatic queen who was mother to the Tudor Dynasty.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Tanzanite
Bibliophile
Posts: 1963
Joined: August 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Contact:

Post by Tanzanite » Fri March 22nd, 2013, 7:41 pm

[quote=""Mythica""]I don't think these have been posted yet - an early peek for Tudor fans:

The Boleyn Deceit: A Novel by Laura Andersen
November 26, 2013

No cover or description yet but the title is pretty self explanatory.

[/quote]

Here's a summary and cover

The Boleyn Deceit by Laura Andersen. US and UK release November 26, 2013.

Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory and Allison Weir! After presenting readers with an irresistible premise in The Boleyn King (what if Anne gave birth to a healthy royal boy who would grow up to rule England?) Laura Andersen returns in this deepening saga, into the dangerous world of the Tudor court, where secrets can bring down an empire, and even the strongest of monarchs may not be able to prevent history from repeating...

Henry IX, known as William, is the son of Anne Boleyn and now the leader of England, his regency period finally at an end. His newfound power, however, comes with the looming specter of war with the other major powers of Europe, with strategic alliances that must be forged on both the battlefield and in the bedroom, and with a court, severed by religion, rife with plots to take over the throne. Will trusts only three people: his older sister, Elizabeth; his best friend and loyal counselor, Dominic; and Minuette, a young orphan raised as a royal ward by Anne Boleyn. But as the pressure rises alongside the threat to his life, even they William must begin to question-and to fear....
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Tanzanite
Bibliophile
Posts: 1963
Joined: August 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Contact:

Post by Tanzanite » Fri March 22nd, 2013, 7:42 pm

Secrets of the Knights Templar by Susie Hodge. Non-fiction. US and UK release December 3, 2013.

Informally organized in 1119 to protect pilgrims on their journeys to visit the Holy Land, and officially sanctioned by the Catholic Church in 1129, the medieval Knights Templar grew into an elite fighting force that played a central role in the battles of the Crusades. They were highly trained, well equipped, and unafraid to take up the sword to defend the church at the limits of western civilization.

Secrets of the Knights Templar is the compelling chronicle of the warrior monks and their fight to defend the Catholic faith, and of their participation in the efforts to vie for control of the Holy Land with the Muslim armies of Kurdish military genius Saladin and his successors. Though they were initially celebrated for their military acumen and acts of bravery, the once-celebrated order was eventually dismantled in disgrace, accused of political crimes as well as crimes against the faith.

With its concise, authoritative, and accessible narrative-amplified by extensive citations from contemporary sources, and accompanied by generously captioned and stunning images of the period-Secrets of the Knights Templar brings a distant era of history dramatically and vividly to life. It is the perfect gift for anyone with a love of medieval, religious, or military history.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Tanzanite
Bibliophile
Posts: 1963
Joined: August 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Contact:

Post by Tanzanite » Fri March 22nd, 2013, 7:47 pm

This is a little different, but thought it might be of interest (if the mods think it's not appropriate, please delete):


A Map of Tudor London (1520) by the Historic Towns Trust. (It may actually be a poster of sorts) UK release April 10, 2013; US release October 22, 2013.

The capital city c.1520 during the reign of Henry VIII showing major streets, lanes, churches, great houses, monasteries and public buildings. This map reveals medieval London at its most impressive, before the city was overwhelmed by a massive population explosion.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
EC2
Bibliomaniac
Posts: 3661
Joined: August 2008
Location: Nottingham UK
Contact:

Post by EC2 » Sat March 23rd, 2013, 12:49 pm

[quote=""Tanzanite""]Secrets of the Knights Templar by Susie Hodge. Non-fiction. US and UK release December 3, 2013.

[/quote]

My goodness that's some awful kit on the cover guy. The mail sleeves should be snug to his wrist - no protection there and that ragged surcoat wouldn't be allowed either! :)
Les proz e les vassals
Souvent entre piez de chevals
Kar ja li coard n’I chasront

'The Brave and the valiant
Are always to be found between the hooves of horses
For never will cowards fall down there.'

Histoire de Guillaume le Mareschal

www.elizabethchadwick.com

User avatar
princess garnet
Bibliophile
Posts: 1569
Joined: August 2008
Location: Maryland

Post by princess garnet » Sun March 24th, 2013, 12:49 am

Tanzanite, I've been looking forward to the final novel in the Marie Antoinette trilogy by Juliet Grey--thanks for the update!

Post Reply

Return to “General Discussion”