Welcome to the Historical Fiction Online forums: a friendly place to discuss, review and discover historical fiction.
If this is your first visit, please be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above.
You will have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.
To start viewing posts, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Forthcoming Books: 2012 edition

For discussions of historical fiction. Threads that do not relate to historical fiction should be started in the Chat forum or elsewhere on the forum, depending on the topic.
User avatar
Tanzanite
Bibliophile
Location: Northern Virginia
Contact:

Postby Tanzanite » Tue January 3rd, 2012, 11:30 pm

Send Me Safely Back Again by Adrian Goldsworthy. UK release August 9, 2012.

The third novel in the series sees new challenges for the men of the 106th Foot, as the British army attempts to recover from the disaster of Corunna and establish a foothold in the Peninsula. Featuring the battles of Medellin and Talavera, the 106th will have their mettle severely tested on the battlefield. But if Napoleon is to be ejected from Spain, war must also be waged in more covert ways. For Hanley, the former artist who is a more natural observer than fighter, the opportunity to become an 'exploring officer' leads him into even more dangerous territory, the murky world of politics and partisans. And while Ensign Williams seeks to uncover the identity of the mysterious 'Heroine of Saragossa', a conspiracy of revenge within the regiment itself threatens to destroy him before he's even faced a shot from the French.

User avatar
Tanzanite
Bibliophile
Location: Northern Virginia
Contact:

Postby Tanzanite » Tue January 3rd, 2012, 11:31 pm

Spartacus: Rebellion by Ben Kane. UK release August 16, 2012.

The mighty slave army led by Spartacus has carried all before it, shredding the armies of three praetors, two consuls and one proconsul. Outside Mutina (Modena) on the plain of the River Po, he has defeated Gaius Cassius Longinus, proconsul of Cisalpine Gaul and general of an army of two legions. Now the road home lies before them - to Thrace for Spartacus and to Gaul for his seconds-in-command, Castus and Gannicus. But storm clouds are massing on the horizon. Crixus the Gaul, once Spartacus's most powerful general, has defected, taking his men with him.

In Rome, the hugely rich Marcus Licinius Crassus will be given ten legions and told to put an end to the slave rebellion - whatever it takes. Meanwhile a potentially fatal difference of opinion is opening up between Spartacus on the one hand and Castus and Gannicus on the other. He wants to lead his men over the Alps and away home. They want to turn back south and march on Rome itself, believing that the Republic can be brought to its knees. This division between the warrior commanders will lead to a critical turning point in the course of history and bring Spartacus himself to his day of reckoning. Rebellion has become war. War to the death.

User avatar
Tanzanite
Bibliophile
Location: Northern Virginia
Contact:

Postby Tanzanite » Tue January 3rd, 2012, 11:32 pm

The Twelve Rooms of the Niles by Enid Shomer. US and UK release August 21, 2012. Cover may not be final

Before she became the nineteenth-century’s heroine, before he had written a word of Madame Bovary, Florence Nightingale and Gustave Flaubert traveled up the Nile at the same time. In reality, they never met. But in award-winning author Enid Shomer’s The Twelve Rooms of the Nile, they ignite a friendship marked by intelligence, humor, and a ravishing tenderness that will alter both their destinies.

On the surface, Nightingale and Flaubert have little in common. She is a woman with radical ideas about society and God, naive in the ways of men. He is a notorious womanizer, involved with innumerable prostitutes. But both are at painful crossroads in their lives and burn with unfulfilled ambition. In Enid Shomer’s deft hands, the two unlikely soulmates come together to share their darkest torments and fervent hopes. Brimming with adventure and the sparkling sensibilities of the two travelers, this mesmerizing debut novel offers a luminous combination of gorgeous prose and wild imagination, all of it colored by the opulent tapestry of mid-nineteenth century Egypt.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Tanzanite
Bibliophile
Location: Northern Virginia
Contact:

Postby Tanzanite » Tue January 3rd, 2012, 11:33 pm

A Most Beautiful Deception/The Malice of Fortune by Michael Ennis. US and UK release September 11, 2012.

A sweeping, intense historical thriller starring two of the great minds of Renaissance Italy: Niccolò Machiavelli and Leonardo da Vinci. Based on a real historical mystery, and involving serial murder and a gruesome cat and mouse game at the highest levels of the Church -- it was the era of the infamous Borgias -- A Most Beautiful Deception is a delicious treat for fans of Umberto Eco, Sarah Dunant, and Elizabeth Kostova.

This brilliant novel is an epic tale exploring the backdrop of the most controversial work of the Italian Renaissance, The Prince. Here, Niccolò Machiavelli, the great "scientist" of human behaviour becomes, in effect, the first criminal profiler, while his contemporary and sometime colleague, the erratic genius Leonardo da Vinci, brings his observational powers to the increasingly desperate hunt for a brilliant, terrifying serial murderer. Their foil and partner is the exquisite Damiata, scholar and courtesan. All three know their quarry is someone who holds enormous power, both to tear Italy apart, and destroy each of their most beloved dreams. And every thrilling step is based on historical fact.

User avatar
Tanzanite
Bibliophile
Location: Northern Virginia
Contact:

Postby Tanzanite » Tue January 3rd, 2012, 11:33 pm

Betrayal by Julian Stockwin. UK release October 11, 2012.

Cape Colony is proving a tiresome assignment for Captain Kydd's daring commander-in-chief Commodore Popham. Rumours that South America's Spanish colonies are in a ferment of popular unrest and of a treasure hoard of silver spur him to assemble a makeshift invasion fleet and launch a bold attack on the capital of the Viceroyalty of the River Plate, Buenos Aires.

Navigating the treacherous bars and mud flats of the river, the British invasion force lands and wins a battle against improbable odds, taking the capital and the silver. But nothing is as simple as it seems in this region of the world: the uprising that will see the end of Spanish rule never arrives and the locals begin to see dark conspiracies behind the invader's actions. Soon the tiny British force finds itself surrounded by an ever more hostile population. The city begins to revolt against its liberators.

Now Kydd's men must face fierce resistance and the betrayal of their closest allies. Can they save themselves, and their prize?

User avatar
Tanzanite
Bibliophile
Location: Northern Virginia
Contact:

Postby Tanzanite » Tue January 3rd, 2012, 11:34 pm

The Wolf’s Gold (Empire V) by Anthony Riches. UK release October 25, 2012.

In the wake of their victory in Germania, Marcus and the Tungrians have been sent east to Dacia, the land of the wolf, with the mission to safeguard a major source of imperial power. Containing enough gold to pave the road to Rome, the mines of Alburnus Major would make a mighty prize for the marauding tribesmen who threaten the province, and the outnumbered auxiliaries are entrusted with their safety in the face of a barbarian invasion.

Beset by both the Sarmatian horde and the more subtle threats offered by men who should be their comrades, the Tungrians must also come to terms with the danger posed by a new and unexpected enemy.
The wolf is stirring...

User avatar
Tanzanite
Bibliophile
Location: Northern Virginia
Contact:

Postby Tanzanite » Tue January 3rd, 2012, 11:37 pm

Queen of the Conqueror by Tracey Borman. Non-fiction. US release April 3, 2012 (released in the UK earlier this year)
For fans of Alison Weir, by a rising star in the field, a groundbreaking first biography of one of England’s most consequential queens, Matilda of Flanders, wife of William the Conqueror.

The remarkable story of Matilda’s marriage to one of the most famous men in history reveals not just her extraordinary character but also the lasting influence that she would have on the English monarchy. All British monarchs from 1087 to the present day can trace their lineage to this first royal consort to be crowned with full pomp and formally recognized as queen. Passionate, steadfast, and wise, she was also ruthless, tenacious, and authoritative, the only person capable of taming her formidable husband. She confounded the traditional views of women in medieval society by seizing the reins of power whenever she had the chance, directing William’s policy and at times flagrantly disobeying his orders.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Tanzanite
Bibliophile
Location: Northern Virginia
Contact:

Postby Tanzanite » Tue January 3rd, 2012, 11:38 pm

The Courtesan’s Lover by Gabrielle Kimm. US release May 1, 2012 (released in the UK earlier this year)

A compelling and vibrant tale from an up-and-coming fresh voice with glowing reviews and strong sales in the UK. The Courtesan's Lover is a return to the fascinating, decadent world that Kimm fans will want to savor. Francesca Felizzi, former mistress of the Duke of Ferrara, longs to be one of the most prestigious of the courtesans. But a chance encounter reveals to Francesca that her sumptuous life is a gaudy facade, and soon an unexpected event plunges her and her two young daughters into a danger she has long dreaded.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Tanzanite
Bibliophile
Location: Northern Virginia
Contact:

Postby Tanzanite » Tue January 3rd, 2012, 11:39 pm

Days of Splendour, Days of Sorrow by Juliet Grey. US release May 15, 2012.

The enthralling trilogy that began with Becoming Marie Antoinette follows one of history’s most beloved and notorious figures as Marie Antoinette ascends to the throne, building the vast splendor that made her famous in the face of the dark sorrow that would eventually bring her down.

Paris, 1774. Eighteen-year-old Marie Antoinette has just ascended to the throne of France, along with her husband, Louis XVI. But life is not easy for the young royals. Despite increased pressure to produce a male heir, Louis is still unable to consummate the marriage, and countless scandals erupt as Marie Antoinette tries to forge her own identity in a court and a kingdom that will always see her as a foreigner. As she forever influences fashion with her lavish gowns and sparkling jewels, Marie Antoinette faces romantic scandal, and ripples of revolution begin spreading across the country, though no one can predict what lies ahead…

User avatar
Berengaria
Avid Reader
Location: northern Vancouver Island, BC Canada

Postby Berengaria » Wed January 4th, 2012, 2:24 am

Great to see you back! I'm already preordering some! :)


Return to “General Discussion”