Welcome to the Historical Fiction Online forums: a friendly place to discuss, review and discover historical fiction.
If this is your first visit, please be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above.
You will have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.
To start viewing posts, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Arthurian Newbie #2 from North Carolina!

Don't forget to read the rules before posting!
cat
Reader

Arthurian Newbie #2 from North Carolina!

Postby cat » Sun August 22nd, 2010, 4:51 pm

Hello everyone! I discovered this wonderful forum through Susan Higginbotham and immediately signed up! I am a graphic designer by trade, but I'm also a huge fan of history and historical fiction. So this seemed the perfect place to chat with other writers and lovers of the genre. Being 100 percent right-brained, I dabble in writing among many other creative hobbies, but I don't consider myself a writer by any means. I have always been drawn to the legends of King Arthur; he's my favorite subject and what I passionately research (when time permits *laughs*). I've read Malory's LeMorte, and while it was a lovely collection of fairytales, I tend to prefer Arthur as a Dark Age warlord, not the King of Camelot. I also find novels of Ancient Rome of particular interest.

I have only truly had a thirst for reading historical fiction for about six or seven years now, so I have a long list of 'must reads' before I'd ever consider myself a connoisseur though. But thus far some favorite authors are: Bernard Cornwell, Rosemary Sutcliff, Helen Hollick, Gillian Bradshaw, Stephen Lawhead, Phillipa Gregory, and Guy Gavriel Kay. There are many more though. And many other authors such as Stephen King, JRR Tolkien and Terry Goodkind that I also thoroughly enjoy when I get into the fantasy realm.