Historical Fiction Online

Go Back   Historical Fiction Online > Information > Questions and Research

Old 11-18-2009, 11:22 AM
Bibliomaniac

Default Lady in waiting to Anne of Cleves

Just how much freedom would a queen's lady in waiting have during this period? Her own room where she could entertain her lover and/or come and go to meet her lover at her heart's content?

Could said lady in waiting be able to leave court functions and dinners to meet a lover in the gardens (or where ever) without being noticed?

Thanks, as always.
Old 11-18-2009, 12:17 PM
Compulsive Reader

Quote:
Originally Posted by Misfit View Post
Just how much freedom would a queen's lady in waiting have during this period? Her own room where she could entertain her lover and/or come and go to meet her lover at her heart's content?

Could said lady in waiting be able to leave court functions and dinners to meet a lover in the gardens (or where ever) without being noticed?

Thanks, as always.
I'm not an expert on the Tudor period but I'm pretty certain she wouldn't have her own room. Space was always at a premium at court and privacy almost non-existent.

She might well be able to sneak out to meet a lover in a public space like the gardens, if she was good at subterfuge (especially if she could get a friend to cover for her), but I don't think it would be easy and I'd expect that if she made a habit of it it would be noticed sooner or later. (Caveat that if the lover was the King, he could do what he liked).
Blog: http://carlanayland.blogspot.com
Old 11-18-2009, 01:13 PM
Bibliophile

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carla View Post
I'm not an expert on the Tudor period but I'm pretty certain she wouldn't have her own room. Space was always at a premium at court and privacy almost non-existent.